Earth Day Northwest 2020 empowers leadership that connects where we have been to where we need to go.

Leadership Group 

Fawn Sharp Interview

Can you give a bit of information on your background and why you decided to be a part of Earth Day Northwest 2020?

I grew up on the Quinault reservation and finished high school when I was 15. After getting my bachelors and law degrees, I came home at 25 and began my law career serving as a trial court judge.
11 years into my legal career, I was asked by an elder to serve in the elected office. Having never held a political position, I was reluctant to accept. It wasn’t what I had perceived my future and career to be – but an elder explained to me that I would really be running to be a leader, not a politician.

Read More..

The Leadership Group is key to the 50th anniversary of Earth Day and how we use it to catalyze the very best for our region. We are working towards a diverse and fully-engaged Leadership Group of highly prominent community, business, educational and spiritual leaders.

Earth Day Northwest 2020 Leadership Group

Last updated: October 7th, 2019
Names listed alphabetically

Lylianna Allala, Board Member | Environmental Professionals of Color, Program Manager | Equity and Enviroment 
Ron Allen, Chair of the Tribal Council I Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe
Scott Armstrong,  Former President and CEO | Group Health
Rev. Paul Benz | Faith Action Network Ruth Dickey |Executive Director | Seattle Arts and Lectures
Rev. Douglas Avilesbernal | Executive Minister, Evergreen Association of American Baptist Churches
Thatcher Bailey, President | Seattle Parks Foundation
Allan Belton, President | Pacific Lutheran University
LeeAnne Beres, Executive Director | Earth Ministry/Washington Interfaith Power & Light
Patty Bowman | Executive Director, Intercommunity Peace and Justice Center
Phyllis Campbell, Chairman | JPMorgan Chase & Co. Pacific Northwest Region
Ana Mari Cauce, President | University of Washington
Loren M. Cohen, Managing Director | Point Ruston LLC
Ray Conner, Former CEO | Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Michelle Connor, President and CEO | Forterra
Isiaah Crawford, President | University of Puget Sound
Joan Crooks, CEO | Washington Environmental Council
Dr. Ben Danielson, Senior Medical Director | Odessa Brown Medical Clinic
Will Daugherty, President and CEO | Pacific Science Center
Robert Davidson, President and CEO | Seattle Aquarium  
Katie DeCramer|Mountaineers Books
Elise DeGooyer| Faith Action Network
Bob Drewel, Senior Advisor to the President of Washington State University
Steve Dubiel
, Executive Director | EarthCorps
Gene Duvernoy, CEO Emeritus | Forterra
Colleen Echohawk, Executive Director | Chief Seattle Club
Dan Evans | Former Governor and Senator
Kelly Evans, Partner | Sound View Strategies
Leonard Forsman, Chair | Suquamish Indian Tribe
Mitch Friedman, Executive Director | Conservation Northwest
Matt Galvin, Co-Owner | Pagliacci Pizza
Leonard Garfield | Executive Director | MOHAI
Dwight Gee, Arts Advocate
Alejandro Grajal, President and CEO | Woodland Park Zoo
Jim Greenfield, Partner | Real Estate & Land Use Practice at Davis Wright Tremaine
Christine Gregoire, CEO | Challenge Seattle and former Governor
Adrian Hanauer, Owner | Sounders FC
Cate Hardy, CEO | PCC Markets
Denis Hayes, President and CEO | The Bullitt Foundation
Lucas Joppa, Chief Environmental Officer | Microsoft
Martha Kongsgaard, President | Kongsgaard-Goldman Foundation
Vu Le, Executive Director | Rainier Valley Corps, Creator|NonprofitAF
Kathi Littmann, President and CEO | The Greater Tacoma Community
Gary Locke|Former Governor and US Ambassador to China
Will Ludlam, President |Weber Shandwick West at Weber Shandwick
Daniel Martin, President | Seattle Pacific University
Ryan Mello, Executive Director | Pierce Conservation District
Nicholas Merriam, CEO |
Tony Mestres, President and CEO | Seattle Foundation
James Miles, Executive Director | Arts Corps
Nate Miles, VP Strategic Initiatives, State Government Affairs | Lilly USA, LLC
T’wina Nobles, CEO | Tacoma Urban League
Dan Nordstrom, CEO Emeritus | Outdoor Research
Kelly Ogilvie, CEO | DeepCell Industries
Estela Ortega, Executive Director | El Centro de la Raza
Julie Pham, Vice President of Community Engagement and Marketing | Washington Technology Industry Association
Tamara Power-Drutis, Fellow | Henry M. Jackson Foundation
Timothy Punke, Partner | Monument Advocacy 
Ben Reuler, Executive Director | Seattle Works
William Robertson, President and CEO | MultiCare
Peter Rogoff, CEO| Sound Transit
Kimerly Rorschach, President and CEO | Seattle Art Museum
William Ruckelshaus, Strategic Director | Madrona and Previous Administrator | U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The Very Reverend Michael G. Ryan, Pastor | St. James Cathedral
Fawn Sharp, President |Quinault Indian Nation
Mike Stevens, State Director | The Nature Conservancy
Father Stephen V. Sundborg, S.J., President | Seattle University
Ed Thomas, Managing Partner | Deloitte
The Very Reverend Steven L. Thomason, Dean and Rector | Saint Mark’s Episcopal Cathedral
Brad Tilden, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer | Alaska Air Group, Inc.
Marcellus Turner, Executive Director and Chief Librarian | The Seattle Public Library
Alan Varsik | Director Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium, Northwest Trek
Maggie Walker | Civic Leader
Jonna Ward, Chief Executive Officer | The Seattle Public Library Foundation
James Wong, CEO | Vibrant Cities
Rabbi Daniel Weiner | Temple De Hirsch Sinai


Others forthcoming

Our Team

Gene Duvernoy


Gene has spent more than 30 years working on land conservation and building community, founding Forterra (then called Cascade Land Conservancy) in 1989 in his attic. He led the organization to national prominence by creating bold, innovative and successful programs that improve the quality of life for all residents.


Kristi England

Executive Director

Kristi has spent more than 20 years working in communications, public affairs, and mobilization. Notably, she worked with Forterra (formerly Cascade Land Conservancy) to develop and implement The Cascade Agenda, and led Seattle Climate Action Now, an initiative that asked city residents to take individual action on climate change.


Johanna Wasse

Project Associate

Johanna has joined the team as part of the Green Pathways Fellowship program.  She is experienced in leading groups and event management.