Elected Officials

Elected Officials

Special thanks to our elected officials

Attorney General Bob Ferguson,
Commissioner of Public Lands Hilary Franz
King County Executive Dow Constantine, and
Fawn Sharp, President of the Quinault Indian Nation

Our Pledge

As elected officials in the Pacific Northwest, we pledge to support Earth Day Northwest 2020’s three pillars of sustainability: protect and preserve the natural environment; expect and commit to equity and inclusion; and ensure our built communities – cities and towns – are vibrant, livable and healthy.

Real sustainability requires a healthy environment and a thriving community that are accessible and welcoming to all our residents. We are committed to being inclusive of all cultures, ethnicities, identities, beliefs and backgrounds working together.

We, the undersigned, pledge to:
Support innovative partnerships that advance sustainability
Create adaptive governance models to advance sustainability
Adopt policies that reduce our respective jurisdiction’s carbon footprint in five years consistent with State law
Prioritize energy efficiency through transportation, land-use and other policies
Align purchasing priorities with sustainability goals
Inform and engage residents to be part of the solution, including enhancing education, training, public awareness, public participation and public access to information.

The Pacific Northwest embodies a spirit of innovation and action. The most certain path towards a sustainable future is not by lofty declaration, but by tangible, demonstrable change. Through our collective commitment we will act with resolve, to maximize our individual and organizational strengths for the benefit of all.


Last updated: January 3rd, 2020
Names listed alphabetically

Sally Bagshaw, Seattle City Council (Former)
Claudia Balducci, King County Council
Stephanie Bowman, Port of Seattle
Ryan Calkins, Port of Seattle
Jenny Durkan, Seattle Mayor
Fred Felleman, Port of Seattle
Will Hill, Shoreline Mayor
Rob Johnson, Seattle City Council (Former)
Deborah Juarez Seattle City Council
Jeanie Kohl-Wells, King County Council
Kathy Lambert, King County Council
Joe McDermott, King County Council
Mike O’Brien, Seattle City Council (Former)
Abel Pacheco, Seattle City Council 

Larry Philips, King County Council (Retired)
De’ Sean Quinn, Tukwila City Council
Dave Somers, Snohomish County Executive
Peter Steinbrueck, Port of Seattle
John Stokes, Bellevue City Council
Dave Upthegrove, King County Council
Peter Von Reichbauer, King County Council